Kayleigh Reviews / Music

Kayleigh Reviews it All: House of Marley Smile Jamaica In-Ear Headphones

Great style from House of Marley and amazing sound too!

My new House of Marley Smile Jamaica in-ear headphones have quickly become one of my prized possessions and it’s one of those rare occasions where you make a quick purchase whilst not expecting much and a product blows your expectations out of the water.

The story of how I got these House of Marley in-ear headphones is short: another pair of Skullcandy’s broke (my fourth in two years in fact) and I needed another pair of in ear headphones fast. I really don’t like to be without music or podcasts when I’m walking around so I marched into HMV and looked around for a cheap pair that wouldn’t be too tinny.

Obviously, I avoided Skullcandy this time around. Two sets losing all sound in one ear and three managing to lose their buds (I swear, they fall off if I merely worry about it) I decided I’d had enough of that brand and felt there must be something better. Of course, I was in a hurry and just wanted something affordable and, more importantly, something I could actually use immediately.

I don’t want to go off topic too much but I hate blister packing. I hate it so much it beggars belief. I honestly think that every company that uses it has made a choice away from customer service and towards cost efficiency. I don’t necessarily have a problem with this and some products (like electronics) need to be secure but headphones are something I want to access. IMMEDIATELY! On two separate occasions I have torn apart Skullcandy packaging feeling like the Hulk but more likely looking like an insane woman. I bring this up because a big reason why I chose my new House of Marley headphones was because of their packaging.

I recognised the recycled-style packaging at once and was pleased to see that it was made of recycled card (the fact that the recycled look has become cool beggars belief and shows how marketers really miss the point). I also quickly realised that the packaging would be easy to open once I left the shop. The price was reasonable and I made my choice.

Delving into the blissfully easy-to-open packaging I immediately noticed an attractive wooden design and material cords. I’m not a huge fan of red, yellow and green in combo so the cords weren’t very attractive to me but I liked how they felt and cheerfully extracted them from their box. Alongside the Smile Jamaica headphones I noticed a very attractive drawstring bag that was clearly designed to hold them. I think this was the first indication I was getting something special. The bag wasn’t tatty or cheap looking but a very nice drawstring bag that seemed practical and like it could actually survive 10 minutes at the bottom of my bag. I have to be honest and state that I have not used this bag (I tend to wrap my headphones around my iPhone) but it’s a wonderful touch.

Now, I plugged in my House of Marley in-ear headphones and chose a track barely two metres from HMV. I put them into my ears and the music started. I was so desperate for the sound that it took me about five paces to realise something: I couldn’t hear anything else. I was in the middle of a crowded mall around lunch time on a Saturday and it was heaving but I couldn’t hear a thing outside of my headphones. The quality of soundproofing is amazing with these Smile Jamaica buds and the sound was also incredible. For the first time in my life I was listening and judging the performance of my headphones, not because they were bad but because they were so spectacularly good! Gape jawed and entranced by my new accessories, I think this may have been one of the best purchases of my life. I went home to do some research and the more I learned, the happier I became.

House of Marley not only uses recycled packaging but also sources their components responsibly. The aluminium used is recyclable and the deeply stylish wood detail is also FSC certified. Not only that but House of Marley is associated with the organisation 1Love, set up by Rita Marley that seeks to help and support charities and donates part of their profits to this fund. So let’s review, my House of Marley Smile Jamaica In Ear Headphones are:

  1. Amazing at noise cancelling
  2. Have a quality of sound for an affordable pair of headphones that is unmatched in what I’ve experienced
  3. Genuinely into responsibly sourcing their parts and packaging
  4. Affordable
  5. Helps a good cause. 

I’m sorry, who are Skullcandy again? This is exactly the reason why I love trying new brands rather than attaching to one blindly, I get to experience something different that can be better. An amazing brand that has offered me incredibly quality of sound for an accessible price, this is a headphone make that everyone should know about and should feel excited for. If you ever need a new pair, I cannot recommend House of Marley enough.

Leave a Reply

