Alphabet Challenge / Writing

Alphabet Challenge: Q is for Quim

Oooh boy, I just had to be different, didn’t I? First thought with Q? Queen. Then I realised that there are remarkably few well-known words that start with the letter Q and I started to get a bit creative. My word of choice is a brilliant one that Joss Whedon managed to slip into the Avengers because no one knew that it was the old-age equivalent of the c-word! That made me very happy, though it is of course true that words only have power if we give it to them so a word that’s never in use, even if it used to mean something very naughty indeed, will inevitably become far more mundane. I chose to go with another feminism sort of tale, I swear I’m not like Jeanette Winterson and assume that all men are rapists or perverts. I just inherently find it fascinating how women can stand their ground against men and how they could have done that in times passed. 

Here’s the transcript:

“He prowled towards her, the game beginning anew. 

“Apprentice.”

“Sire?”

“Demonstrate the bow for me.”

Obediently she picked up the weapon and drew back the string till it was taut, she saw no need for an arrow.

“Adequate form” he said, stroking the curls on his chin and moving towards her, “However one should keep their stance more like this.”

His body moved behind her, his shoulders high above hers and she allowed her arms and back to be adjusted. 

“Are you tempted to lop off a breast? It must be difficult for you.”

He probably meant it in jest but his breath and heavy hand creeping towards her neck made her lips curl back. When his fingers gripped around her throat she couldn’t help but shudder. 

“Like a bird, apprentice.” His voice had a note of triumph, “I can feel your heart.”

Reaching to grab his wrist she turned and closed her fingers around his throat. Not the whole neck she didn’t have hands for such a job, but the lump that all men had. She clasped around it and watched his shock turn to fear. 

“And now I can feel yours, Sire.” she replied and finally let go. 

Gasping for breath and crumbling to his knees, he still attempted a smile. 

“Your master teach you that?”

“The chamber maids, they have things to teach me that no man could anticipate.”

“I still will return, I love a woman to fire.”

She’s torn open part of his neck and now the cut bled. Red dotted her nail and she happily lapped up his pain. 

“Then come.”

One thought on “Alphabet Challenge: Q is for Quim

Leave a Reply

